about us images movies extras
Der Zwergschnauzer     Standards (D)     The Miniature Schnauzer     Standards (E)   -    FCI vs. AKC vs. KC

Breed Standards 

Although the schnauzer is a German breed, the German breed standard is not recognised in all countries over the world. It is applicable only in those countries that are member countries of the Fédération Cynologique International (FCI). In the US and UK, which both are not members of the FCI, schnauzers are breed and judged by the standard of the American Kennel Clubs (AKC) resp. the standard of the Kennel Clubs (KC).


Fédération Cynologique Internationale  

The Fédération Cynologique Internationale is the World Canine Organisation. It includes 84 members and contract partners (one member per country) that each issue their own pedigrees and train their own judges. The FCI makes sure that the pedigrees and judges are mutually recognized by all the FCI members. 

The Fédération Cynologique Internationale was created on May 22nd, 1911 with the aim to promote and protect cynology and purebred dogs by any means it considers necessary.

The founding nations of the FCI are as follows:

* Germany (Kartell für das Deutsche Hundewesen en und Die Delegierten Kommission)
* Austria (Osterreichischer Kynologenverband)
* Belgium (Société Royale Saint-Hubert)
* France (Société Centrale Canine de France)
* Netherlands (Raad van Beheer op Kynologisch Gebied in Nederland)

The Federation disappeared due to the first World War and in 1921, the Société Centrale Canine de France and the Société Royale Saint-Hubert re-created it. The new articles of association were adopted on April 10th, 1921 and on March 5th, 1968, the FCI got the legal personality by decree. 

The FCI recognizes 339 breeds, Each of them is the 'property' of a specific country. The 'owner' countries of the breeds write the standard of these breeds (description of the ideal type of the breed), in co-operation with the Standards and Scientific Commissions of the FCI, and the translation and updating are carried out by the FCI. These standards are in fact the reference on which the judges base themselves when judging in shows held in the FCI member countries.

Every member country conducts international shows as well as working trials. results are sent to the FCI office where they are input into computers. When a dog has been awarded a certain number of awards, it can receive the title of International Beauty or Working Champion. These titles are confirmed by the FCI. 

Breed Groups:

 


American Kennel Club

The American Kennel Club (AKC) is a registry of purebred dog pedigrees in the United States. Beyond maintaining its pedigree registry, this kennel club also promotes events for purebred dogs, including the "Westminster Kennel Club Dog Show", an annual event which predates the official forming of the AKC, and the "AKC/Eukanuba National Championship". The AKC is not part of the International Canine Organisation, Fédération Cynologique Internationale, as most other countries' kennel clubs are. 

The AKC is not the only registry of purebred dogs, but it is the one with which most Americans are familiar. For a dog to be registered with the AKC, the dog's parents must be registered with the AKC as the same breed, and the litter in which the dog is born must be registered with the AKC. Once these criteria are met, the dog can be registered as purebred by the AKC.

As of April 2007, the AKC fully recognizes 157 breeds with 4 additional breeds granted partial status in the Miscellaneous class. Another 58 rare breeds can be registered in its Foundation Stock Service.

Breed Groups:

 


The Kennel Club

The Kennel Club is a kennel club based in London, England. It is the oldest of the world's all-breed kennel clubs and one of the most prestigious. It is also the largest in the United Kingdom. It was the first official registry of purebred dogs in the world , and its annual registrations in the early 2000s average 280.000 dogs. 

The club was founded on the 4th of April 1873. The KC is not part of the International Canine Organisation Fédération Cynologique Internationale, as most other countries kennel clubs are.

The Club's signature event is the prestigious and world famous "Crufts" dog conformation show, held annually since 1948, which attracts competitors from all over the world. It also holds much smaller Scruffts for cros breed gods and the dog event "Discover Dogs".

The Kennel Club's primary objective is to promote in every way the general improvement of dogs". It is able to offer dog owners an unparalleled source of information, experience and advice on dog welfare, health, training and breeding.

Breed Groups:

about us images movies extras
Der Zwergschnauzer     Standards (D)     History     Standards (E)        FCI vs. AKC vs. KC

Rassestandards 

Der Schnauzer ist zwar unumstritten eine deutsche Rasse, trotzdem ist der deutsche Rassestandard nicht ausschliesslich weltweit gültig, sondern nur in jenen Ländern, die Mitgliedsländer der Fédération Cynologique International (FCI) sind. In den USA und Grossbritannien, die beide nicht Mitgliedsländer der FCI sind, unterliegt der Schnauzer dem Standard des American Kennel Clubs (AKC) bzw. dem Standard des Kennel Clubs (KC).


Fédération Cynologique Internationale

Die Fédération Cynologique Internationale ist die Weltorganisation der Kynologie mit Sitz in Belgien. Sie umfasst zur Zeit 84 Mitglieds- und Partnerländer (nur ein Verband pro Land), welche ihrerseits eigene Ahnentafeln ausstellen und die Richter ausbilden. Die FCI. garantiert innerhalb ihrer Organisation die gegenseitige Anerkennung der Abstammungsurkunden (Pedigrees) der Länder, wie auch der Richter.

Die Fédération Cynologique Internationale wurde am 22.Mai 1911 mit dem Ziel gegründet, die Kynologie und die Rassehundezucht bei Bedarf in allen Belangen zu unterstützen und zu schützen.

Die Gründerländer waren:

* Deutschland (Kartell für das Deutsche Hundewesen und die Delegiertenkommission)
* Österreich (Osterreichischer Kynologenverband)
* Belgien (Société Royale Saint-Hubert)
* Frankreich (Société Centrale Canine de France)
* die Niederlande (Raad van Beheer op Kynologisch Gebied in Nederland)

Die Vereinigung stellte ihre Tätigkeit während des Ersten Weltkrieges ganz ein und wurde im Jahre 1921 durch die Société Centrale Canine de France und die Société Royale Saint-Hubert wieder neu gegründet. Gesamtstatuten der FCI wurden am 10. April 1921 und am 5. März 1968 erlassen und der Verband erlangte durch Dekret die juristische Persönlichkeit.

Zur Zeit anerkennt die FCI 339 verschiedene Rassen. Jede von ihnen ist das « Eigentum » eines bestimmten Landes, welches als Ursprungsland der Rasse bezeichnet wird. Die Ursprungsländer erstellen in Zusammenarbeit mit der Standards- und der Wissenschaftlichen Kommission der FCI die Standards für ihrer Rassen (Beschreibung des Idealtyps der Rasse). Die Übersetzungen und die Nachführung der Änderungen erfolgt durch die FCI An Ausstellungen in den FCI-Ländern stellen die Rassestandards für die Richter die Bewertungsgrundlage dar.

Die FCI-Länder führen internationale Hundeausstellungen und Arbeitsprüfungen durch, deren Ergebnisse der FCI-Geschäftsstelle gemeldet und von dieser computermässig erfasst werden. Wenn ein Hund eine gewisse Anzahl Anwartschaften erhalten hat, kann er mit dem Titel eines internationalen Schönheits- oder Arbeitschampions ausgezeichnet werden. Diese Titel werden von der FCI verliehen. 

Darüber hinaus können die Züchter - über die Landesverbände - ihre Zwingernamen international schützen lassen.

Rasse Gruppeneinteilung:

 


American Kennel Club

Der American Kennel Club ist das Zuchtbuch für reinrassige Hunde in den Vereinigten Staaten. Neben der Registrierung veranstaltet der American Kennel Club auch Hundeausstellungen, wie z.B. die jährliche "Westminster Kennel Club Dog Show", oder auch die "AKC/Eukanuba National Championship"

Der AKC ist kein Mitglied der Fédération Cynologique Internationale wie die meisten anderen Zuchtvereine. Der AKC ist nicht der einzige Zuchtverband in den USA, aber er ist der Bekannteste. Ein Hund kann nur dann beim AKC registriert werden, wenn beide Elternteile beim AKC registriert sind und der gesamte Wurf beim AKC registriert wird. Mit Stichtag April 2007, werden 157 Hunderassen vom AKC anerkannt.

Rasse Gruppeneinteilung:

 


The Kennel Club

Der Sitz von The Kennel Club ist in London, England. Es ist der weltweit älteste Rassezuchtverein und einer der bedeutendsten. Es ist auch der grösste in Grossbritannien. Die ersten reinrassigen Hunde der Welt wurden im Zuchtbuch dieser Organisation eingetragen. Im Jahr 2000 wurden die jährlichen Eintragungen in das Register mit durchschnittlich 280.000 Hunden pro Jahr beziffert. 

The Kennel Club wurde am 4. April 1873 gegründet und ist kein Mitglied des Fédération Cynologique Internationale, wie die meisten anderen Zuchtvereine.

Die bedeutendste und bekannteste Veranstaltung von The Kennel Club ist die weltberühmte "Crufts" Hundeausstellung, die seit dem Jahre 1948 jährlich durchgeführt wird und Teilnehmer aus der ganzen Welt nach England bringt. Innerhalb dieser Veranstaltung werden auch kleinere Austellungen und andere Veranstaltungen für Mischlingshunde durchgeführt, incl. der "Discover Dogs" Veranstaltung.

Das vorangige Ziel von The Kennel Club ist die generelle Verbesserung von Hunden. Für Hundebesitzer ist er eine Anlaufstelle für Informationen, Erfahrungen und Unterstützung im Zusammenhang mit der Haltung, der Gesundheit, dem Training und der Zucht.

Rasse Gruppeneinteilung: